Gift Guide for your Geek

Andrew and I have been on the lookout for geeky t-shirts for him, so I thought I’d share with you a smattering of my favourite picks from the Web:

1. For the English major:

Major In English Meet Girls Organic Cotton Tee

                             Major in English: Meet Girls!

Cult Classics also boasts a range of subject-specific tees with groan-worthy slogans such as…

Major in Chemistry: Imagine The Reaction

Major in Electrical Engineering: Shock Your Friends

Major in Philosophy: Just Think About It

Major in Geology: It Rocks!

Matter Matters (for the budding physicist)

Archeology… Can you dig it?

Jasmine’s verdict: The slogan’s not incredibly funny, but it’s alright. This shirt would make a good conversation starter at a party.

Andrew’s verdict: I like that the design’s not too flashy or attention-grabbing. It does suit my style and I think I could pull it off. It sure beats the countless witty but rather pointless designs we saw at Bugis Street last week. The slogan for the English Major is one very frequent stereotype I had to deal with when I was in Uni.

Our Rating: 3 out of 5 MacBooks

2. For his inner child:

Everything I Need To Know Dr Seuss t-shirt

Jasmine’s verdict: I’d be rather disturbed by a guy wearing this shirt. It’s way too Freudian for my liking. I wouldn’t be able to concentrate on our conversation and would probably find myself wondering what exactly he learned from Dr Seuss.

Andrew’s verdict: It’s not something I would wear. Given that I don’t really know much about Dr Seuss, I would be putting myself in a conversation ‘trap’ by wearing something which might attract potential Dr Seuss fans. My childhood was more Enid Blyton and Roald Dahl. 

Our Rating: 1 out of 5 MacBooks

3. For the foodie:

Jasmine’s verdict: Even if Singaporeans lack contextual knowledge about American and Mexican cuisine, this cartoon grilled cheese and taco are really cute, and I can imagine alot of girls being drawn to a guy who is sporting enough to pull off a kitschy shirt like that. A local version pitting a curry puff against a siew mai might just sell like hotcakes…

Andrew’s verdict: Very cute! I like wearing black t-shirts and I can imagine the fun conversations about who would win. My vote goes for the grilled cheese! 🙂

Our Rating: 3.75 out of 5 MacBooks

4. For the geology buff

Jasmine’s verdict: The colours are harmonious and the size of the screenprint is just right for Andrew’s frame. I also like how the picture doesn’t require a caption to explain the diagram- that would be overdoing it.

Andrew’s verdict: This is definitely a great conversation starter, though of course I might disappoint many who would mistake me as a geography or biology major. I can imagine my primary school cousins trying to identify the various processes indicated by the arrows. Blue is one of my favourite colours, but I unfortunately don’t have many shirts in that colour.

Our Rating: 4 out of 5 MacBooks

(MacBook Pro)

5. And how about a geeky utility bag to tote his new threads in?

Jasmine’s verdict: Absolutely not! This is more freaky than geeky. I’d hate for my boyfriend to look like he was carting a cadaver around in his schoolbag. Give me a good ol’ Jansport anyday…

Andrew’s verdict: I really love the functionality of the bag with so many compartments of different sizes for files, handphone, pens, markers etc. It’s definitely a good tool for any teacher to bring to class. The straps would make for a good conversation starter amongst students and I would imagine it being rather fun carrying this bag around and telling students to stay away from your bag. Unlike Dearie who seems to vehemently object to this bag, I actually think I quite like it. 

Jasmine’s Rating: 2 out of 5 MacBooks

Andrew’s Rating: 4 out of 5 MacBooks

Leave a Reply

